Forum

Marc's practice notes

Personal practice journals
336 posts • Page 1 of 341, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 34

Marc's practice notes

Postby marc » Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:17 am

Thanks for putting up the new forum, Russell. I like it! I'll start importing my older posts here.
Last edited by marc on Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
marc

Re: Marc's practice notes

Postby marc » Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:18 am

Nov 9 2011, 3:44 PM EST

Hi everyone!

My name is Marc, and I'm a 24 year old student from Holland. I started meditating about a year ago, but it wasn't very consistent until I came across Daniel Ingram's book last June. Since then I've been meditating daily (mostly once, sometimes twice a day) and last Saturday I had my first Skype chat with Ron Crouch. Based on the descriptions of my practice Ron thought that I am now at the 3 Characteristics , and approaching A&P. I'll try to keep a regular journal of my practice here.

May all beings be happy!
marc

Postby marc » Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:19 am

Nov 9 2011, 4:23 PM EST

This morning at 9.00 AM I meditated for 50 minutes.
First I concentrated on my breath for 10-15 minutes, counting the breath from 1 to 10, about 6/7 times. My concentration was fairly good, so I began noting as much sensations as I could. Now and then I felt tension in my abdomen, I noticed thinking, imagining talking to people and being in various situations, visual thoughts, wandering, itches, mild pressure and stinging in my lower back, hoping.