Forum

Andy's Practice Thread

Personal practice journals
14 posts • Page 1 of 21, 2

Andy's Practice Thread

Postby AndyW » Mon Mar 25, 2013 1:44 pm

Previously, on Andy's Practice Thread...

Here are some things that it might be useful to know to set the scene:

• - I suspect I got A&P when I converted to evangelical Christianity aged 18.
  • - I started meditating in 2004, in a liberal, mystical Christian context. Then lost my faith for good in 2005.
  • - I started practicing Zen meditation - mostly breath counting - in 2007.
  • - I jacked it all in for 18 months between Feb 2009 and Sept 2010.
  • - I restarted meditation in Sept 2010, and started working with Kenneth Folk in Jan 2011. He taught me Mahasi noting and the practice-formerly-known-as-Mahamudra-noting.
  • - I started working with Beth Resnick-Folk in October 2011. She taught me non-meditation and enquiry noting.
  • - According to Kenneth and Beth, I got stream entry in November 2011, when I experienced a cessation - which I described then as a 'tear in the fabric of the universe' during daily practice.
  • - I hit First Path review on a hardcore Mahasi style retreat in Germany in April 2012 after a very long honeymoon period.
  • - I hit Second Path on or just after retreat with John Peacock at Gaia House in August 2012 (again, according to Beth and Kenneth).
  • - Since then I have been a bit directionless, but with Kenneth's help have access to soft/dynamic jhanas at least up to 6, possibly up to 8.
  • - I sat two hours a day from December 2011 to December 2012, without fail, and since finishing that year, I have been somewhat lacklustre, missing entire days quite frequently, and most often only doing an hour when I do sit.